Apollo Awards

West Perry Students Honored
Jaden Kitner with Mr. Grippin and Ms. EwingCreated in 2008, the Hershey Theatre® Apollo Awards (HTAA) are presented annually to recognize outstanding achievement by local high school students in their musical and play productions. Modeled after The Tony Awards® on Broadway, the HTAA are produced and presented by the Hershey Theatre Education Department. Since its inception, the HTAA program has awarded more than $220,000 in scholarships largely made possible through individual donations.

This year the Apollo Awards introduced a new, $1,000 scholarship, the Tony Measley Student Scholarship, named in honor of co-founder and longtime producer Tony Measley. Candidates for the scholarship are nominated for going above and beyond in their involvement with high school theater. This scholarship was awarded to West Perry High School senior Jaden Kitner. At West Perry, Jaden was first involved behind the scenes, selling tickets and helping create the program. Jaden then stepped out of his comfort zone and tried out for a part. As an actor, he was extremely dedicated to learning his lines and embracing his character. This year, he landed a major role as King Triton in The Little Mermaid. 

Additionally, West Perry High School senior Madeline Magee received the Spirit of Theater Award - Musical for her efforts off stage during a particular play or musical production.

Dylan Ceprish was given an Achievement Award, for his growth over time in West Perry's theater department. 

Congratulations to Jaden Kitner, Madeline Magee. and Dylan Ceprish.